Freedom Writing – Spoken Word

This is a poem I wrote as the Black Lives Matter movement started gaining momentum. It’s about learning how to be a good ally and doing anti-racism work as a white woman.

I don’t want to be like the white women who came before me.

I don’t want to follow in the footsteps of my foremothers

who for one reason or another

obscured the footprints they were trying to walk alongside.

I don’t want to be like those white women.

Freedom writing,

free them bright kids from dark homes,

freedom writing when they should have been freedom listening,

resisting the urge to talk over

in attempts to talk with.

I work with black and brown kids

but I don’t want to carry on the white woman legacy

of helping “serve” little black boys

but pursing her tight lips

and tightening the lips of her purse

as she walks by their older brothers.

And when I write grants

I don’t want to pander to white readers

slandering black leaders

kids’ parents, their teachers

call ourselves a “safehaven”

as if our kids need saving

unbravely unquestioning

not wrestling

with the words I write in order to get

white money.

I don’t want to use the phrase

“at-risk youth”

instead of brilliant, resilient, impressive child blessings.

And I don’t want to be like my white peers

who watch Real Housewives but “only of Atlanta”

who make jokes about a coping skill serving

one of our kids well in jail.

She’s 7.

(so was Aiyana)

who demand respect as if it’s a one way street

where you’re the only car on the road,

run them down if they jaywalk

Sound familiar?

I don’t want to be like them

and I want to catch myself when I am.

I want to be caught and I want to be taught

instead of caught up in teaching.

I want to be seething

and not complicit.

Choking the system

instead of breathing with it.

Choking the system

instead of watching as it chokes them.

And yes I said them.

Because I am still a white woman

and the word us does not apply here.

But it does apply to allyship

allies who rip

apart the words of other white folks

allies who use our privilege like a soapbox

hoping not

to feel too noble while up there,

vocal but aware

that though we did not earn that step up

we have the chance to use it.

I don’t want to be just another white woman

who does nothing but sympathize

and stand by

while the symphony of lies

gets more and more cacophonous

from those with a Wilson/Caucasian wish

to stay shielded from our demons.

So I will try my best to be another sort of white woman

and this is how I’ll start

with art

with part

of a new kind of

Freedom Writing.

Leave a comment